Home

darren.png

Darren Rovell is a self-proclaimed sports-business analyst for ESPN. He is a popular figure on Twitter with 1.3 million followers at the moment, more than I could ever dream of having. Darren’s personality on Twitter is one that is seen by many and hated by most. He offers insider information to the sports business world. “Average NBA team ticket prices for the 1992-93 season” followed by an image of 26 teams with prices next to them ranging from $19-32. Typical replies to Darren are known across the internet as ‘trolls’ and people who just find his life work to be meaningless information.

As seen above, I became one of those trolls on a tweet of his, he responded which made me ecstatic. Someone I had seen numerous times on TV and online had communicated with me, I knew I had to seize the opportunity at hand, so I immediately begged him to block me. The tweet soon blew up to an astounding 103 retweets and 417 likes. The following day, Darren tweeted at me “Congratulations on your retweets.” I can happily say that I had my 15 minutes of fame as a Twitter personality.

Leave a comment